Picture
Again, a reminder to be careful when dealing with Craig's List.  Use your common sense.  I just noticed someone advertising a $200 4BR apartment in Causeway Bay, promising everything.  Then just a couple of posts laster, I see a 2BR advertised for $100, luxury living they say, 1264 sq. ft.  But one problem - the pictures they show for the 2BR are the same pictures they show for the 4BR post!  BEWARE!

Also there have been a string of posts in the past few months, where someone lists a flat for say $65 per night.  That sounds like a deal, but when you follow the link to their site (roomlender.com as an example), there is a 1-year minimum lease.  Can someone explain to me how that qualifies as a Vacation Rental?  If you are going to list a nightly rental price, you better rent it on a nightly basis.  I mark all such posts as MISCATEGORIZED on Craig's List.

 


Comments

02/17/2011 00:40

Hi Bill,

thanks for the info u have here! i'm going to HK with 5 other friends and i've been looking for an affordable place for all of us. i was looking at the Haven Street Condo and Wan Chai Flat u listed down under Causeway Bay a week ago, but today when i tried to use the link again it says the link has expired!! Would u happen to have the contact of the person who put up the listing? Coz i would really like to enquire about availability for the 6 of us.

Oh and thanks for sharing this scam. i just did my own search before looking at your blog and i actually saw that same ad and thought it looked really worth it..lol. Pls continue to help newbies like me avoid scams like this! =))

Reply
02/18/2011 17:10

Hi Adam,
She took down her links at Craig's List but now they are back and I link to them again. One problem, she has raised her prices from $95 to $130 and from $90 to $120! Ouch.

I know that they were very popular flats when priced at $90 and $95. I guess we'll see how popular they are now but I think she is pricing too high, because her buildings are old. There are a couple of other Causeway Bay flats for short-term rent that are in new buildings and around the same price as her's now. I have them all on my page.

Competition is for sure good. I would like to see more Causeway Bay flats for rent that are legit of course to drive prices down. I've seen several postings on Craig's List even today that are dead-giveaways for a SCAM! Stay away and be very leary of Craig's List.

Reply
Allan
03/05/2011 13:17

BIll, Adam, et al,
First of all, thank for this wonderfull and open site.
My family and I are visiting HK mid July (on a long stop over to SE Asia).
I found this nice 120$ flat on the web http://hongkong.craigslist.hk/vac/2196639501.html - for sure a good price.

I found the same picture on
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331128 so 350$.

Hmm, I truly wonder if this is SCAM - would some of you experts know?

Thanks,
Allan

Reply
Bill
03/05/2011 19:00

Hi Allan,

If it is too good to be true, then it probably is. For that area of Hong Kong (SOHO/Sheung Wan) and for a 2 bedroom that looks as nice as those pictures make it look, $350 per night is high but about right. $120 per night is too good to be true. Obviously, I can't say for 100% but my instincts tell me to stay away from it. Whatever you do, don't pay a dime up-front on this one! My 2 cents.

Reply
Allan
03/05/2011 20:22

Hi Bill,
Thanks for the view. I'm going to say away from it, and will follow one of the many places in your list. I understand that you are interested in feedback once we return, of course I send you a email. That this least I can do.
Thanks again for this nice site !

Reply
07/01/2011 07:21

Hey guys,
When we talk about Roomlender.com, I have to say that they are legit.
I went to Chicago, and been in their office, and is quite impressive. They own few night clubs, and few properties of their own in Chicago, and they do advertising for other owners that are listing with them. So if a property looks suspicious (and it might be) is not their fault. They only charge properties owners a monthly fee to have their listing posted with roomlender site.
I think that are many scam-ers out there, but roomlender is not one of them.
Cheers, Jenel with XM Ortho Lab, San Diego.

Reply



Leave a Reply


(c) Visiting Hong Kong